Buttermilk80's Blog All to the Glory of the Father

Jesus is changing me. How about you?

Depression

with 2 comments


I read many blogs from people who are depressed.  Some are considered clinical in their depression.  To all who suffer with depression I have a note:

I too suffered a great period of depression.  Death and self torture were part of my every waking moment.  So why am I able to cope without all that now?  I often read their blogs and consider what made the difference.  I know it was Jesus who lifted me out of that sink hole.  But if I tell that to you, you think to yourself, “He just doesn’t understand.  He’s just another one of those questionably helpful sort”. 

If telling you what Jesus has done for me would help, I’d spend all my time writing.   But I know it won’t help many who are still in it.  I can’t help you.  The medication won’t take it away, it only reduces the symptoms.  Jesus is the answer you’re looking for.  But I can’t make you believe that.   And certainly, the doctors and even the entire world won’t tell you Jesus is the answer.  So why believe me?  Because I testify that He does help the helpless! 

“You will seek me and find me when you look for me with all your heart, and I will be found by you”.  Right now you have nothing.  What have you got to lose by seeking for His help with all your heart?

By His Grace.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hi, how did you come to know Jesus? 🙂

    jassy

    February 23, 2011 at 7:32 am

    • It began by reading Proverbs. After I learned of the things that make a “good” man, The Lord introduced me to the Gospel. He brought me to a small church in Oregon. And I learned many things from an elder there for a couple years.

      But it wasn’t until I had stumbled very badly that the Lord “came back to get me”. That was about 3 years ago. I make mention of it in a post called Elk Mountain.

      buttermilk80

      February 23, 2011 at 9:01 pm


Leave a Reply

