Buttermilk80's Blog All to the Glory of the Father

Jesus is changing me. How about you?

The Next “New”

leave a comment »


The whole world strains after a brand of peace and joy.  It’s as though they peer over the edge of a railing.  Wide eyed and full of anticipation, they look forward to the next “new”.  Yet when it comes is their heart satisfied?  Let’s say the next new gadget comes out on the market, or the next sequel of their favorite movie.  Is there a deep satisfaction when they get to spend time with their next “new”? 

Let’s be clear here, I was once part of that straining.  I too sought for that peace and joy in the things I could experience.  I too complained about the laws of God.  It seemed to me that the only thing God wanted was to destroy my straining for peace and joy.  And that “seeming” proved to be right.  God did, and still does, want to destroy that temporary peace and joy I so longed for.  And in it’s place He gave me a peace and joy that lasts.  This peace He gives is the very essence of joy.

How I long to share that joyful peace with those who still strain over the railing.  I know they won’t understand what I’m talking about.  Just as I hated even the mention of God and Jesus, they hate Them too.  How do I plead that they will respond?  What words or actions can I say or do that they will consider the lasting peace of God?

Billy Graham has spoken millions of words about that peace.  The whole world has heard of his name.  But where is the great throng which turned from sin to embrace God’s ways?  Sadly, there are few who truly embraced his message.  So words won’t change the world.  Those beautiful words did change thousands of lives.  But there remains millions who still strain.

Mother Teresa did many things in the name of her God, my God.  And her name is known by the world in a powerful way.  But I’ve heard my fellow drunks speak of her name with reverence and contempt.  She worked tirelessly to provide for the poor.  She did what she could to show the message of peace and joy which comes from God.   But where it the great throng which turned from sin to embrace God’s ways?  Sadly, there are few who truly embrace her message.  So actions won’t change the world.  Those beautiful deeds did change thousands of lives.  But there remains millions who still strain.

All God’s children hunger for you.  They have something precious to share.  Please give the message of the Cross a serious consideration.  I testify as one who has been transformed from worldly to godly by the power of that Cross.  You can too.  And I tell you a truth; the peace I found in Jesus is absolutely marvelous!

 By His Grace.

Written by buttermilk80

February 1, 2011 at 7:08 am

Leave a Reply

