Buttermilk80's Blog All to the Glory of the Father

Jesus is changing me. How about you?

And God Swore an Oath, That They Should Never Enter His Rest.

leave a comment »


I woke this morning and saw something in myself that concerns me.  It is a vague something, yet it’s markedly dangerous.  It’s hard to put my finger on what the cause might be.  But I recognize it’s danger from what I read of the people who God swore would never enter His rest.  It is a spirit of discontent. 

This spirit of discontent is the very bend which condemned those who were written of in Hebrews:

 7 So, as the Holy Spirit says:

   “Today, if you hear his voice,
 8 do not harden your hearts
as you did in the rebellion,
   during the time of testing in the wilderness,
9 where your ancestors tested and tried me,
   though for forty years they saw what I did.
10 That is why I was angry with that generation;
   I said, ‘Their hearts are always going astray,
   and they have not known my ways.’
11 So I declared on oath in my anger,
   ‘They shall never enter my rest.’ ”

I have heard His voice.  I am seeing what He is doing.  And yet this “hardness of heart” is bubbling within me.  The Lord is making me aware of it’s potential.  And I rest assured that He is able to help me crush it before it grows to a problem. 

What shall we say regarding this?  There are a number of items of importance which this subject brings to the forefront.  I’ll line them out and allow them to be displayed.  Often if we shine God’s light on such problems they have a tendency to evaporate before they cause damage.

  1. It is a “hardness of heart” and a symptom of rebellion.  It’s as though we set our feet in the sand and act like a little child who won’t go or do what dad says he must do.
  2. It was what caused Cain to murder Able.  Cain decided that he knew better what was correct.  And the result of this rebellion was murder.  What did God respond to Cain?  ” If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.”
  3. The potential of this spirit of rebellion is that we are cast away from God for eternity.  Potential is the key word.  Nip it in the bud before it begins to grow.  For this sin is the very essence of death to God’s people.  Through it we begin to allow our hearts to go astray and through it we forget (thus never knowing) His ways.
  4. Once more, and with power, we proclaim that God is able to rectify this spirit of rebellion within those who are being called out.  But we cannot even know it is within us without His leading.  The hideous nature of this sin is that it is so very like our natural state that we hardly recognize it’s growth untill it’s too late.

What shall we do to repair this “glitch” in our walk with God?  Since it was God who showed it to me, it will also be God who will remove it.  Yet He has spoken that our salvation is a mutual work.  He speaks to us regarding our sins and it is up to us to agree.  Yet it is not with our own strength that we will war against these sins. 

I can’t describe what we are able to do about our sinful nature.  It is beyond me to know how to remove such a natural tendency as rebellion against the rule of God in my life.  But I can clearly show what should be done in this matter:  I will turn to Jesus.  It is He who will be glorified in my life.  It is He who will announce to me that there is something needing our attention.  It is He who will cause me to consider the problem.  It is He who will advise the proper understanding regarding sin.  It is He who will send me through the paces necessary to remove the problem.  And it is He who, in the end, will remove it.

It is not our strength or will that receives the certification of God’s Holiness.  It is the very interaction of Jesus, the King of Kings, who brings us to His Father.  It will be Jesus who receives all Glory come that day.  If I build my house on anything else it will not stand.  What do we mean when we say “To God be the Glory, forever”?

I’m going to post this as is.  I am aware it’s not complete.  But it is essential enough to post quickly.  I am struggling at the top of my game to obey.  Yet I know I am not alone in this matter.  There are thousands who reach these points in their walk with Jesus and falter, never to rise again.  I can say, without doubt, that the answer is Jesus.  And I encourage questions, additions, and corrections to this post.  I could have saved it as a draft and worked on it later.  But I know I wouldn’t get back to it in a timely fashion.  I submit this, then, for the building up of the body of Christ.

By His Grace.

Leave a Reply

