Buttermilk80's Blog All to the Glory of the Father

Jesus is changing me. How about you?

Regard or Suspicion?

with one comment


There is an air of suspicion among Christian bloggers.  It’s the same air we find in the body of Christ.  This suspicion is neither good or bad.  In one way, we should develop a sense of carefulness regarding who is sincerely in love with Jesus.  In another way, we should be very careful not to offend our brothers.  Those on the fence, in believing to salvation, should be weeded apart from those who have entered in.  But who can tell?  And should we allow our suspicion to drive the “babes” away?

We all have a healthy and careful approach to others who call themselves Christian.  And this is as it should be.  Those who are mature in Christ, however, will balance their doubt of others by the measure of the Word of God.  It is right that we should judge one another on the basis of truth.  But that judgment should never exclude another from fellowship.  When we find fault in another, regarding doctrine, ethics, morals, or statements, we should not presume them to be the enemy.  What fault we find might simply be a matter of redirecting from error to truth.

I applaud the bloggers for being careful.  But let’s not let our work in our blog drive an eternal wedge between our brothers and sisters on here.  If you are mature, teach.  If you are growing, learn.  To those of you who are mature in Christ I say this:  “You never learn so much as when you teach”.  There are millions of thoughts behind the man of Christ who has learned to do His Holy will on a consistent basis.  Have mercy on those who are trying to accomplish the tasks you have learned to do well.

To those who are learning I say this: “Be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry” (wow that sound so familiar).  What you lack in maturity, you don’t even realize your lack yet.  There are men and women in Christ who are able to discern your need, and they will not count it against you if you prove your willingness to learn.

In all things we do in our blog, let us be very careful.  Treat your posts and responses as though you were in a church body setting.  After all, aren’t we doing eternal work?  I post this because I have both encountered snobby bloggers.  And I have posted items I had to remove later.  We all falter and stumble in our words.  Mercy is the call of eternity.

By His Grace.

Written by buttermilk80

January 3, 2011 at 7:22 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel you on this buttermilk. I try to be mindful of everything that you mentioned when writing my posts. I am also mindful of:

    1 Corinthians 9:19-23 (New King James Version)

    Serving All Men

    19 For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win the more; 20 and to the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might win Jews; to those who are under the law, as under the law,that I might win those who are under the law; 21 to those who are without law, as without law (not being without law toward God,but under law toward Christ), that I might win those who are without law; 22 to the weak I became as weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all men, that I might by all means save some. 23 Now this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I may be partaker of it with you.

    Christ is Love to me and so I try to write for Love knowing that when people come to know Love, they will come to know the One who is Love among us. If what I write distracts from this course I try to delete it. Sometimes I am more successful than others.

    therooflesschurch

    January 3, 2011 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

