Buttermilk80's Blog All to the Glory of the Father

Jesus is changing me. How about you?

Archive for December 24th, 2010

Excluded from Eternal Life.

leave a comment »


Revelation 22:14, 15

“Blessed are those who wash their robes, that they may have the right to the tree of life and may go through the gates into the city. Outside are the dogs, those who practice magic arts, the sexually immoral, the murderers, the idolaters and everyone who loves and practices falsehood.”

I was talking with a friend this morning about why I’m so different than most everyone else.  I don’t get along with those who chose to chat about idle things.  I don’t revel in the media of movies and secular music.  I rarely even listen to Christian contemporary music any more.  So the question came up regarding my distance from the main stream of people.

Consider what that verse says at the last: ” . . . and everyone who loves and practices falsehood.”  How many lies can you count in one hour of watching TV?  If you listen to the radio, how many songs and commercials can you count which spout lies or find their basis in anything other than The Holy God of all creation?  Drive down the road and look at billboards.  What do you see?  Can you identify the lies they are using to sell you what they have?

If you don’t think you fall into any of the other categories mentioned in that verse, you likely fall quite well into the round hole of loving lies.  Americans fall for nearly anything these days.   I’m not pointing fingers at anyone here.  I’m just making the point that lies have so built America that it now takes the Holy Spirit of God in a Christian to point them out.

I have no control over what anyone else thinks or loves in this world.  But I do warn, as the Lord has, that anyone who lives like this will not inherit eternal life.   Hey!  Hear me!  You will remain in your guilt if you do not obey Jesus.  What do I mean by obey?   After all, isn’t salvation free?  ok.  here . . .

1. Believe in the promise of God to forgive sins through trust in Jesus, His Son.

2. Obey the command of Jesus to become holy,  even as your heavenly Father is Holy. 

3. The forgiveness and power of Christ Jesus sets us free from the servitude of sin.  We need not carry on as do the un-believers any longer.  And He will hold His people to that.  Pray, and Do, the will of God in Christ Jesus.   If you don’t,  you won’t see the other side of  life after the judgment.  You will be cast away to bear your guilt for eternity.

By His Grace.

Written by buttermilk80

December 24, 2010 at 9:27 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

I Want God’s Will.

leave a comment »


What do I want for Christmas?  I want God’s will.  

Let others chase after rotten fruit, I want God’s will. 

Nothing will satisfy this hunger in me but God’s will. 

I seek to pray and something blocks my way.  I want God’s will.

Doors remain locked around me.  I want God’s will.

I strain to hear, yet nothing’s heard.  I want God’s will.

My lips speak His Holy name.  I want God’s will.

How I desire to write success.  I want God’s will.

Father, Great Father of Jesus my Lord, I want Your will.

Open the way before me.  I want Your will.

Let men strive for what they want.  I want Your will.

By Your Grace.

Written by buttermilk80

December 24, 2010 at 3:19 am