Buttermilk80's Blog All to the Glory of the Father

Jesus is changing me. How about you?

The Gift of God in Christ Jesus

with 7 comments


Often, when I encounter non-christians on the internet and speak of the singularity of truth found in Christ, there exists an assumption that Christians are an exclusive group of people. They think we have no right to run down other “religions” as secondary to Christianity. Two things must be said about this. The first thing to be said is: “You’re right”. Christ has set us apart as a singular approach to God the Father. No one comes to the Father but through Jesus Christ His Son. The second thing that must be said about the singularity of Christians before the Father in Heaven is this: We do not own this great privilege because we chose to believe we are better than other people. We come to know God the Father through Jesus because we are taught by His Spirit, which lives in us.

It is not possible for non-christians to understand what I just said in point two. Even this statement will arouse hatred in their hearts for God’s people. Only those who have the Spirit of God within them, by the power of Christ’s sacrifice and saving power, are able to understand this concept. I can’t give you this power, it comes from God Himself. You can’t learn this power, it is from God Himself and is not available to men on their own strength. We come into this power as a gift of God in Christ Jesus.

Now, let me be very clear about where I stand in this post. There is no salvation outside of the Spirit of God. It is through Christ Jesus, alone, that salvation into eternity will be found. This is not my rule. It is the rule of God the Father. I don’t want to see anyone die. But if you don’t accept Jesus as the shield against the judgment of God, you will die.

Rage and rant all you will against Christian’s, it will do you no good in the end. When you rant and rage against us, you rant and rage against the very power of the God in which you say you believe. He has done this for us. He did not consult man when he set Jesus apart as the savior. He will not consult your words and actions in determining what is truth. He alone is truth. More over, God set Jesus apart for this role from the foundation of the world.

We know Him who calls us heavenward. We don’t assume we’re right. The Spirit of God confirms our belief. We live in the power of the Living God. What we believe is not “religion”. It is a living faith provided by God Himself.

Knowing what I do about the future of those who do not accept this truth, I am sorry for all you who won’t accept His gift. You are on the very edge of learning that what I’ve presented here is truth. How woeful will be the cry of those who heard this message and refused to submit themselves to Jesus’ authority in this life. Wether you believe me or not is of no concern to me. But it will be of great concern to you.

 Father, I ask that you open the eyes of anyone who reads this entry. Help them understand that what I have written is the truth You have set in the blood of Jesus for all eternity.

By His Grace.

Written by buttermilk80

November 12, 2010 at 7:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi there,
    Thank you for leaving a comment on my wordpress. I agree w/ what you shared. I would spend more time sharing on wordpress, but between being technologically challenged & spending time w/ the Lord & His word, reading, going to classes, playing piano for the poor & one on one w/ people who need help, etc. I don’t get much of a chance. If I find someone who has time to help me know how to navigate on wordpress someday so it won’t be frustrating or time consuming, perhaps I’ll give it a try again. The more I live the more I find it a precious privilege to know & love & serve the Living God, our Father & our Lord Jesus Christ! It is a blessing beyond the beyond!

    donna888

    November 12, 2010 at 9:12 am

  2. I interpret the scriptures you use differently. I see Christ being the way for everyone…not just for those who ‘confess with their mouth Jesus is Lord’….which is something Jesus never said. If Jesus was who he said he was, then his death is enough for everyone regardless of their religious background/understanding/belief. That’s how I see it anyway.

    I resist all ‘singularity’ arguments using scripture. It just doesn’t hang together for me. God is not exclusive for me. One enters the Kingdom (here on earth and after death) by living a life modelled by Jesus…loving God (LOVE) and loving others.

    I realize you disagree, no worries…I just wanted to show how others might interpret scriptures. If it comes out that Christianity is indeed as you say the scripture describes, then that is simply not a belief system I can subscribe to. It goes against the Spirit of Love to exclude anyone attempting to live an examined life.

    peace.

    cindy @ cottage instincts

    November 12, 2010 at 10:04 am

    • You are half way right. There is a life lived in response to what is right by God’s standards. But there is also a consistant and nagging word we have all heard and know: What will we give to make ammends for a single act of selfish desire or out right attack against the will of God? Since we are His creation and all we have and are belongs to Him, what do we have to give when we are asked to produce our credentials for what we think is holiness acceptable before a Holy God?

      If I didn’t respond to your comment, I would not be true to the intent of my blog. I don’t write that people will be forced, by my great wisdom, to accept Jesus as the sole author and source of salvation. I write that He is alone true and every man (woman) is a liar. What people do about that fact is up to them. I tell you a truth, however, what you believe is an important part of our experience in this world. The other half is the Glory of Christ Jesus. Though I know it sounds like I’m arguing, I’m not. I’m simply stating the truth as the Spirit of God within me has taught me to say.

      By His Grace.

      buttermilk80

      November 12, 2010 at 10:20 am

      • I will simply give my honest struggling with life as credentials. My honest questioning, my frustrations, my failures. If that isn’t enough, I’m ok with that. I’m just not into having the ‘right answers’ as proof of anything.

        My honesty is the only thing I’m truly able to give freely. And honestly, I don’t get a God who excludes people because they didn’t believe a certain way.

        peace.

        cindy @ cottage instincts

        November 12, 2010 at 10:47 am

      • Then, by your belief, it will be ok to have to live next door to a rapist, a pedifile, a man who beats his wife, a murderer, a liar, a thief, a self righteous person, an athiest, a whore, a satanist, and such, for eternity. Either we accept Jesus’ offer to change us and to be our teacher, or we are locked in the person we have become. Is it ok now for God to allow all men into the eternal heaven? Or perhaps it’s ok to think of ourselves as such great people that God simply can’t decide to throw us away. Please forgive my manner of speaking here. The answer to your question is simply going to sound like that.

        By His Grace.

        buttermilk80

        November 12, 2010 at 11:03 am

  3. I don’t think we can’t be changed….I am being changed daily by trying to walk as Jesus did in mercy, compassion and grace. It’s hard! I’m thankful God offers us manna for each day, new mercies each morning. I hope that living by Jesus’ example I can encourage others to change as well. I don’t consider myself locked into anything. I also don’t consider anyone else locked into anything. I really don’t care for labels. Being God’s creation, we are way too complex for neat little boxes. I’m a human being made in God’s image with the capacity for great evil and great good. Each time I choose good, I partake in God’s Kingdom of Love. When I chose evil, I’m distanced from that Kingdom and his presence of peace and reconciliation. I like to keep things simple, childlike, trusting. Arguing theology via a book written by humans like myself, put together by humans like myself, translated and interpreted by humans like myself…well, I just can’t put that much stock into the written words of scripture. I abide by the living Word, Jesus, before the written words of Paul, et al.

    Also, I’m basically ok with living next to anyone anywhere I suppose. Jesus was too. I’m thinking Jesus didn’t go throwing around labels like whore, rapist, atheist, etc….so I don’t either. He was fine with hanging out with the lowliest folks, so I’m ok with that too. He only had harsh things to say to those who thought they had it all together, knew the ‘right’ answers, and made it too hard for the regular jane to come close to God. I’d be resistant to living next door to a person with all the answers. I think you called that kind of person ‘self righteous’…so yeah, I’d prolly not be ok with that. I’d deal with it, but I wouldn’t enjoy it. 🙂

    I just don’t see God or the gospel as you do, and that’s ok. I was simply offering a different perspective from one who used to believe and live as you do, but has found something that holds together better for me.

    Feel free to have the last word (it is your blog!), but I’ll bow out now. I don’t think we’re going to come to any agreement, and so I’ll just agree to disagree, as they say. 🙂

    peace.

    cindy

    November 12, 2010 at 11:29 am

    • Father, I thank you for this conversation. It is not for us to know where Your Spirit leads another. When Your Son told Peter to follow Him, Peter asked “What about John”. Your reply to him was “What is that to you. You follow me”. I thank you for all good things and give you complete praise for anything good in me. You alone know our heart. I ask You for one thing, after these words we’ve sent one another: Show us plainly where we are and lead us to the perfect way. You said, “There is a way that seems right to a man (woman). But the end thereof is death”. I am compelled to register before Your Holy Throne that I am a man. May all Your will be accomplished as it must be. You are God! What do we know. Your Son’s name is too much for any man to speak. But we are given the name Jesus for the time. In this Holy and worthy name I present this prayer to You. Amen.

      By His Grace.

      buttermilk80

      November 12, 2010 at 11:51 am


Leave a Reply

